Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Question/reinsate

I know reinstatement is tricky and a gamble, but at this point I'm struggling so hard to breath because my diaphragm is so tense and stomack muscles are spasming like it said in my first post I'm pretty much still bedbound because of it. I just want to breath. I reinstated but have only took .5mg total valuim 

It didn't relax it don't know if it's just gonna take more. But now I'm scared it won't work and wonder if I didn't take anymore will I suffer a setback.. 

Hey @[Gr...],

I am by no means an expert on reinstatement or tapering, but from what I've read from others on here, if you only took one .5mg dose, I don't think that will cause much of a setback.  If it didn't help at all, though, I don't think, if it were me, that I would take anymore.  

Have you tried any other methods to relax your diaphragm and stomach?  I found that lying down nearly flat with a heating pad on my middle helps with the difficulty breathing.  Conversely, if that didn't help me, holding cold water in my mouth and breathing through my nose helped my breathing.  Weird, I know, but whatever helps, right?

• Like 1

I see in your history you've been off for about a year. Reinstatement generally has the best chance of success if done 2-4 weeks after stopping. I'm not saying it doesn't work after this length of time but usually people see better results if they reinstate immediately.