Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Aging issues around benzos

[im...]

I have been on benzos now for more than half my life.  I have been tapering for three years now, down to a small amount.  But I still have an Z-Drug to contend with.  Often times I feel that I don't have the grit to pull of a benzo free life.  I feel the intensity of the symptoms and the loss of a community due to the ravages of withdrawal symptoms.  I didn't start getting miserable until I tapered, originally too fast.  But, wow...i'm am worn down.

Hello @[im...],

I was in my 60’s when I started tapering and while I was on benzos far shorter than you, it was still a good decision for me. The drug was making me very ill, due to tolerance. I knew that I order to live my life the way I wanted, benzos needed to out of the picture. For me, it was well worth the effort.

• Like 4

16 hours ago, [[i...] said:

I have been on benzos now for more than half my life.  I have been tapering for three years now, down to a small amount.  But I still have an Z-Drug to contend with.  Often times I feel that I don't have the grit to pull of a benzo free life.  I feel the intensity of the symptoms and the loss of a community due to the ravages of withdrawal symptoms.  I didn't start getting miserable until I tapered, originally too fast.  But, wow...i'm am worn down.

Hi Love. @[im...] Your post really resonated with me. When I read your handle / user name... for some reason this really made me tear up... but in a good way. Like... 'We're here now... we're doing what we can NOW... today." < That's how I interpreted it anyway.