Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

I (med researcher) am charting my taper

[Th...]

I wanted to share what I’m doing in case it’s useful. I’m a medical researcher so collecting data is my life. I decided to chart my withdrawal symptoms and severity daily to create an accurate record. Over time, hopefully this will allow me to see patterns and predict likely timing/course. 

I wasn’t expecting significant withdrawal; I’d been on only 0.25 mg of clonazepam daily for roughly 100 days. Due to the very low dose, I didn’t anticipate discontinuation issues, but decided to start a 25% total reduction (0.25 to 0.18), not cold-turkeying, just to be cautious. In light of clonazepam’s long half-life, I did my usual dosage (0.25 mg, half of a 0.5 mg pill) one day and then a quarter-pill (0.125 mg) the next day, in an alternating schedule.

I took my first 0.125 mg pill on a Monday and on Thursday withdrawal kicked in big. I was so not expecting it, it took two days to realize it was withdrawal; until then I suspected some unusual form of Covid, despite negative tests. Once I realized it was withdrawal, I switched to ~0.18 mg daily to stop the blood level swoops of my previous method. (I say “approximately 0.18” because cutting an accurate quarter-plus-an-eighth of a dry pill is difficult.)

I also started charting then. It was easy to retroactively know the symptoms/severity I’d experienced the previous few days because I’d texted friends about it on those days and so had a record. Since Day 6 I’ve charted nightly, so the day is accurately recorded without risk of forgetting things by the next day.