Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

Zolpidem

[Su...]

Hello. I am still learning here. I am off of 1mg x 2 daily klonopin since first week of June.  I have been reading here some comments about Zolpidem [ambien]. I take 10 mg at bedtime. 

My withdrawal [and unsupervised taper] have been nightmarish.  However,  I have noticed a cycle where I feel relatively less symptoms in the day and worse towards night.[my face is burning off now and my neck feels like a concrete post].

What are folks' opinions on Zolpidem being a bad actor here?  How do I address it if this is part of the problem?  Are there any definitive sources on this that you can point me to?

It sounds like you're dealing with interdose withdrawal, when I stupidly started taking Ambien after my cold turkey from Klonopin I used to watch the clock waiting for bedtime and relief from the symptoms it created.  I kept thinking I wasn't getting better from my cold turkey but it wasn't that, the Ambien was keeping me from recovering and I kept getting sicker and sicker.

Z-drugs are classified as a non-benzodiazepine but they affect the same part of the brain and can produce the similar symptoms.  I quit it cold turkey and felt better within days but most will taper it at about the same rate we suggest for benzo tapers, 10% every couple of weeks.  As with benzo's, one size doesn't fit all so choose your method wisely.  

You're so newly off the Klonopin, I'm not sure if its a good time to stop the Ambien but if its adding to your troubles, it might be time.  Life is so good off of these awful drugs, I hope you can find a way to be free of the Ambien.