Please Check, and if Necessary, Update Your BB Account Email Address as a Matter of Urgency ×
New Forum: Celebrating 20 Years of Support - Everyone is Invited! ×
  • Please Donate

Donate with PayPal button

For nearly 20 years, BenzoBuddies has assisted thousands of people through benzodiazepine withdrawal. Help us reach and support more people in need. More about donations here.

People who have been recovering for over ten years

This is my first time with Benzo Buddies. I joined today because I am looking for other people like myself who have been struggling with recovery for a very long time. I had my last Benzo almost 13 years ago and I am still having symptoms that come and go and in varying degrees. I want to know that I am not alone, or crazy and that someone else is still struggling too. 

Hi Lisa

Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I am deeply sorry you have been struggling with your recovery for such a long time. I am 8 months off now, so I cannot imagine what it must be like. We are so glad you are here. You are definitely not crazy and you are not alone. Our site has just gone through a major software upgrade so we are all still trying to find our feet. We used to have a Protracted forum with members who are in long term recovery and we are in the process of setting up the group again. The folks in that group are the most lovely and compassionate group of people you'll ever meet. I'll see if I can get one of them to check in on this thread.   

Omg! Thank you! I feel better already. And if you are 8 months out don’t be discouraged by my situation. I am much better than I was the first few years and I get the feeling it’s not very common for recovery to go on this long. 

• Like 2