Scared to Jump

[Sh...]

Hello Benzo Friends,

I have been tapering since May of 2011 from Klonopin 3mg. I c/o to Valium 60mg. I am at Valium 1 mg. My scheduled final jump is next Tuesday. It has been and still is a very long road. I have been freaking out a bit at the prospects of jumping. I am having windows and waves, usually a wonderful/terrible mix throughout the day. Can anyone virtually hold my hand here?

Thanks,

S

Hello Shetland600,

I saw your question and put together some information that may be helpful. Congratulations on making it to 1mg of Valium. We are here for you.

Getting off the last tablet:

Ashton recommends going to 0.5mg of Valium that would be the equivalent of 0.025 mg of Klonopin. So, 0.03125mg or maybe 0.015625mg should be low enough to step off and become benzo free. Here is the reference below:

The Ashton Manual

http://www.benzo.org.uk/manual/

Chapter II

Getting off the last tablet: Stopping the last few milligrams is often viewed as particularly difficult. This is mainly due to fear of how you will cope without any drug at all. In fact, the final parting is surprisingly easy. People are usually delighted by the new sense of freedom gained. In any case the 1mg or 0.5mg diazepam per day which you are taking at the end of your schedule is having little effect apart from keeping the dependence going. Do not be tempted to spin out the withdrawal to a ridiculously slow rate towards the end (such as 0.25mg each month). Take the plunge when you reach 0.5mg daily; full recovery cannot begin until you have got off your tablets completely. Some people after completing withdrawal like to carry around a few tablets with them for security "just in case", but find that they rarely if ever use them.

I hope this is helpful,

Summer

Hi Shetland:

You can do this.  Be proud of how far you've come already.  :clap:

Once you've jumped the real healing can begin.

mmgc